Meet Matt M., IronPlate Man

Tell us a little bit about you, your athletic/fitness background, your fitness routine and what you currently follow.

I’m 32 years old, married and my wife Erin and I recently welcomed our daughter Parker to the family! I live in Hoboken and work at a financial publishing company in Manhattan that I started almost 10 years ago. I’ve always played sports and in high school was on the soccer, track and tennis teams.

I currently work out at IronPlate on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday from 6am to 7am. I am in the process of motivating myself to start running consistently to enhance my cardio exercise outside of the gym.

What prompted you to start training?

I started training after my wife and I found out in December 2013 that she was expecting with our first child. I wanted to ensure that my daughter had a healthy, in shape father who had lots of energy to play with her and be active in her life.

What is your favorite part of training?

Definitely not waking up for a 6am workout! Seriously though, my favorite part is feeling the difference the training has on my body. Seeing it is nice too! During actual training, my favorite part is getting past a weight or rep count I hadn’t before. It’s amazing to think about where I was on day 1 and where I’ve gotten today. And I still have a long way to go!

Do you follow any type of specific nutritional program?  Why/Why not?  What does it entail?

I like to think I do! Having a pregnant wife for nine months certainly didn’t help but I’ve tried to focus on adding breakfast to my diet, which used to consist solely of as much coffee as I could get my hands on, and having a healthy lunch. I now eat two hard boiled eggs for breakfast, for the most part have a salad with chicken for lunch and in the afternoon I have a protein bar.

I’m never going to be the ideal nutritional example for someone to model themselves after but I feel I am starting to find a balance that allows me to not change everything about how I like to live (greasy food - I’m from the Philadelphia area so you can’t deny me cheesesteaks! – and beer/wine/whiskey will always have a place) but at least put it into reasonable moderation.

What motivates you?  

My daughter, Parker, my wife, Erin, and the size of my pants. I refuse to buy the next size up!

How do you feel training at IronPlate has benefited you?  

I get one-on-one attention, someone who will push me to do that one extra rep, or do that extra exercise my tired body doesn’t want to do (remember I work out at 6am!) and just as importantly I have a friend who can give me advice, help me overcome mental hurdles that everyone goes through working out and be a positive support system.

How do you feel your body has changed and transformed?

I am much stronger than I was before. My wife and I take periodic pictures to monitor the difference, and it is very apparent. My shoulders, arms and chest have filled out significantly. My legs have always been large which when I am out of shape gives them a straight up and down look which is now gone.

Any advice for those out there not training and mulling it over and over waiting for the "right time?"

There are always reasons to put off training. With a baby on the way, I knew I needed to start working out. The reason I started with IronPlate was because it helped me find the motivation to get out of bed and get to the gym. And it worked. The reason I have stayed with IronPlate for over a year now is because of the results, the support and the friends I have made.